jump to navigation

ESSENTIAL LEGACY 28 Agustus 2009

Posted by ignatiusedy in Bible Inspiration.
trackback

2 Peter 1:12-15  So I will always remind you of these things, even though you know them and are firmly established in the truth you now have. I think it is right to refresh your memory as long as I live in the tent of this body, because I know that I will soon put it aside, as our Lord Jesus Christ has made clear to me. And I will make every effort to see that after my departure you will always be able to remember these things.

Peter knows he will soon die; a victim of lies and violence. However, he does not despair. His job for Christ on earth is almost over, but not quite yet. So he writes to ensure a legacy of changed lives, encouraging the church to endure through suffering; eagerly awaiting the return of Jesus. He knows that the chill winds of persecution will stir all kinds of fearful reactions, and that the only way to stay on track as a Christian, is to be constantly reminded of the truth about Christ’s salvation, and how to follow Him each day.

It is not that we deliberately forget: we just get so busy, or simply focussed on our responsibilities – that we fail to bring God’s truth to the front of our minds. When that happens, our decisions cannot be Godly, and degenerate to the level of our best thoughts. But our bright ideas are not good enough to steer us (or anybody we teach) safely to heaven. In fact, many of the New Testament letters are reminders of what the believers ought to have known and should have been practicing, but they had just slipped out of mind.

In the same way that Peter wanted to make every effort to remind them (which is why he wrote these two letters), serious Christians must make every effort to keep reminding each other, and allow themselves to be freshly stirred by gospel truth. That should be the prophetic work of every ministry – to bring people back to love and obey the truths of God’s covenant. This is the reason that Word@Work is delivered to you today: to remind you to live according to the grace of Christ as revealed in the Scriptures. It may also be the reason why God has placed you alongside another believer (or put you in email contact); so that you can also stir them up to love and good works (cf Heb 10:24).

Prayer:  Father God. Please forgive me for not allowing Your Word the biggest space in my thinking, so that it might be the judge of my desires and decisions. Help me to make every effort to open my mind to Your truth, in church, daily devotions and through Word@Work; and not to assume that I ‘know’ when really I have forgotten to obey you. Please restore me to walking in Your Light, and enable me to remind other believers to do the same. In Jesus’ Name. Amen.

Komentar»

No comments yet — be the first.

Tinggalkan Balasan

